表面淬火与感应淬火

如何区别“表面淬火”和“感应淬火”这两种淬火工艺?

如果涉及工件淬火,则在部件批量生产中主要采用 2 种方法:表面淬火和感应淬火。这两种部件淬火方法的对比展示出其之间的区别和各自的优点。

表面淬火与感应淬火——两种淬火方法的对比

对比两种方法淬火硬化(此处对淬火进行一般性说明:淬火)钢质工件,首先明显的区别就是对工件处理的方式。表面淬火时可同时针对大量工件进行淬火,而感应淬火则专注于单件加工。因此进行感应淬火时是对工件进行逐个淬火,而表面淬火则是对工件进行逐批淬火。

这当然对生产会产生影响。因为采用表面淬火时,工件必须在生产线和淬火作业处之间进行运输,所以其对工件运输有一定的依赖性,而感应淬火则是使用相应的淬火机(例如 MIND 系列),可直接在生产线上按节拍完成。

表面淬火详细说明

如上所述,表面淬火按批量进行。其目标与感应淬火相同,即工件的表面硬化。

表面淬火时会通过所谓的工件“渗碳”进行淬火。为此会将钢材加热超过 880°C,以达到奥氏体状态。此时从活性渗碳介质中分解出的碳透过材料表层渗入工件。通过部件边缘扩散可渗入更多碳,同时直到中心部位均可保留几乎相同的碳密度。

碳渗入之后就可完成淬火。在此,碳的渗入对于工件的淬火程度和淬火深度分布情况起决定性的作用。淬火情况,即淬火程度和淬火深度由渗碳深度、渗入量以及钢材淬透性和淬硬性决定。在这种情况下,工件部分渗入的碳越多,则该区域的淬火效果越好。

淬火之后需要回火(更多信息关于:回火),以使工件重新恢复一定的韧性。每次淬火过程的目标在于让边缘可抵抗机械冲击,但还要使部件具有足够的韧性,以便传导作用力对其造成的影响且不会被损坏。

进行表面淬火时,原则上有两种可能性可影响淬火深度:一种是影响工件的加热,例如通过涂抹特殊膏剂来避免特定部位的加热,另一种就是影响淬火,例如仅将工件特定部分浸入淬火池中。
这两种方法所达到的结构都不是很精确,重复加工时会存在较大误差。
感应淬火则完全不同。

表面淬火与感应淬火

感应淬火详细说明

如上所述,采用感应淬火工艺进行淬火时,每个部件均将分别进行淬火。也就是说,每个部件均单独加热及淬火,并在必要时回火。 (此处是对感应淬火的一般性说明: 链接)

除了可集成在生产线中之外,感应淬火还具有的巨大优势是可以精确控制淬火结果及其再现性。
为此,淬火工艺的整个过程,从电感器,包括施加的能量和频率,以及淬火和回火过程等,均针对各个部件进行专门调整。即使是具有复杂几何形状的工件,也可在淬火时得到极佳效果。

哪种淬火方法适用?

最终采用哪种淬火工艺,其取决于各种不同因素。表面淬火和感应淬火,这两种工艺均分别具有优缺点。
如果针对中等批量或大批量部件生产,则感应淬火可提供下列优势:

  1. 感应淬火可连同适用的淬火机完全集成到生产线中根据生产线节拍运作,并且完全自动化
  2. 感应淬火的淬火效果可再现,这有助于稳定的高品质生产。
  3. 单位成本因此明显降低

请求

product Inquiry - cn
checkbox*
* 必填项

Case hardening vs. Induction hardening

What is the technological difference between Case Hardening and Induction Hardening?

Two methods have become established for hardening workpieces in mass production: case hardening and induction hardening. A comparison of these two methods shows their differences and the advantages of each.

Case Hardening vs. Induction Hardening – a Comparison

If one compares the two methods for hardening steel workpieces (for a general explanation of hardening see here: Hardening), then the first striking difference is the parts handling. While case hardening processes a large number of workpieces at the same time, induction hardening focuses on the individual workpiece. With induction hardening, components are hardened workpiece by workpiece. For case hardening, “batch by batch” would be a better description.

Of courses, this has an impact on the manufacturing. While case hardening relies on parts logistics to carry parts between the production line and hardening, induction hardening can be integrated directly in the production line with a suitable hardening machine (e.g. MIND series) and be part of the cycle.

Case hardening in detail

As mentioned above, case hardening is done in batches. As with induction hardening, the goal is to harden the outer layer of workpieces.

In case hardening the workpieces are hardened by carburization. The steel is heated to over 880 °C to become austenitic. Then coal is transferred into the part from a CO-emitting medium through the part’s surface. The diffusion causes the edge of the workpiece to receive more carbon, while the carbon density remains the same toward the center.

Hardening occurs after the application of carbon. Penetration of carbon is critical for the hardness and the depth hardness characteristic of the workpiece. The hardening, i.e. the hardness and the hardening depth, is defined by the carbonization depth, the receptiveness and thus the hardenability of the steel, and the quenching. The more carbon is inside an area of the workpiece, the more successful the hardening in that area.

After hardening, the workpieces are annealed (for more information about annealing please see here: Annealing) to restore some of their plasticity. The goal of any hardening process is to make the edge resistant to mechanical loads while giving the part enough elasticity to deflect external forces without damage.

There are two ways to influence the hardening depth in case hardening: One is to manipulate the heating of the workpiece, e.g. by application of special pastes that prevent heating in certain places. The other is by influencing the quenching process, e.g. by immersing only certain parts of the workpiece.  
With both methods, results are not particularly accurate and reproducible only within a relatively wide tolerance range. This is very different for induction hardening.

Induction hardening in detail

As mentioned above, each part is hardened separately with the induction hardening technology. Each part is heat treated, quenched, and annealed (if necessary) separately. (For a general description of induction hardening see here...)

In addition to integration in the production line, the great advantages of induction hardening are precise control and reproducibility of hardening results.
To achieve this, the entire hardening process from the inductor and the applied energy and frequency to quenching and annealing is specially adapted to the relevant workpiece. This yields excellent hardening results, even for workpieces with complex geometries.

Case hardening vs. Induction hardening

Which hardening method is the right one?

Which hardening process is suitable for an application depends on several factors. Both methods, case hardening and induction hardening, have advantages and downsides.

For the mass production of components in medium or large quantities however, induction hardening offers a range of benefits:

  1. With a suitable hardening machine, induction hardening can be fully integrated in the cycle of the production line and automated.
  2. Especially with induction hardening, results are reproducible, which contributes to a consistently high quality in production.
  3. This reduces unit costs considerably

Request

product Inquiry
checkbox*
* Mandatory Fields